FRI, JAN 19, 2007 at 6:23 AM

The Shins set to release 3rd album!


The highly-anticipated third album from The Shins, Wincing the Night Away, is set for release via Sub Pop Records on January 23rd, 2007. The album was recorded in the summer of ’06 in singer/guitarist James Mercer’s basement home studio, with Phil Ek in Seattle, and at Supernatural Sound in Oregon City, OR, and was produced by Mercer, and Joe Chiccarelli (Beck, U2).

The tracklist for Wincing the Night Away follows:

1. Sleeping Lessons
2. Australia
3. Pam Berry
4. Phantom Limb
5. Sea Legs
6. Red Rabbits
7. Turn on Me
8. Black Wave
9. Spilt Needles
10. Girl Sailor
11. A Comet Appears

The first single from the album, “Phantom Limb,” will be released as a digital single (with two b-sides) via iTunes on November 14th and as a CD-single on November 21st.

Here’s the tracklist for the single:

1. Phantom Limb (album version)
2. Nothing at All
3. Spilt Needles (alternate version)

In addition, the band will also be headlining the Sub Pop showcase at CMJ this year, which will take place November 2nd at the Bowery Ballroom.