News for The Postal Service

THU, JUL 25, 2013 at 8:16 AM

The Postal Service | Some Idealistic Future (Documentary)

Right on the heels of their inside look at the sounds of Washed Out, the good folks at The Creators Project created what we think is a pretty damn wonderful documentary about our own Postal Service. Take a few minutes and watch the band wax nostalgic about the creation of their now legendary record,Give Up, you’ll probably feel pretty good afterward—these songs have that effect. This record means an awful lot to us, and it means even more that it seems to mean so much to so many other people, too—The Creators Project included.

Posted by Sam Sawyer

THU, APR 4, 2013 at 10:36 AM

If We’re a Little Slow Getting Your Order Out This Week…


…we sincerely apologize. The accompanying photo to this post is a stack of orders for The Postal Service’s 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Give Up, and if you are at all familiar with the thickness of a piece of paper, you’ll no doubt understand that that is a lot of pieces of paper! If you are one of the many people who placed an order with us recently, what this means is that there is a good chance that it’s going to take a few extra days to arrive at your designated arrival zone. We apologize for any and all inconveniences associated with this recent glut of orders. Rest assured, we have many extra hands in the warehouse working toward getting our shipping times back to their mostly satisfactory to remarkable times. Thanks so much for your (ongoing) patience with us.

Posted by Sam Sawyer

TUE, MAR 5, 2013 at 9:00 AM

Postal Service Auditions from 2002

The Postal Service are back in 2013 with a reissue of their now classic album, Give Up, featuring 15 bonus tracks, including two brand new ones, as well as an extensive tour.

Watch this recently unearthed video showing the fateful day in the early aughts when Jimmy met Ben and the magic that would become Give Up began to blossom.

Pre-order Give Up: The Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition from Sub Pop now and receive the limited, colored-vinyl Loser Edition. These are available over at The Postal Service’s own site and will be available at select independent retailers on April 9th, call your local record store for availability.

Posted by Alissa Gallivan

NEWS : SUN, FEB 10, 2013 at 11:08 AM

The Postal Service’s ‘Give Up’ Turns Ten, Gets Reissued w/ New Tracks


It’s been a difficult task to try and wrap our collective head around the fact that it’s been a full decade since The Postal Service’s game-changing, and much to the chagrin of seemingly everyone, only record was released. A lot has changed since February of 2003 (including the fact that Give Up recently went platinum!), but one thing that’s remained constant, is how truly remarkable The Postal Service record, Give Up, is. That is certainly not lost on us, which is why Sub Pop is releasing a deluxe, 10th anniversary reissue of Give Up on April 9th. The deluxe version will feature 15 bonus tracks, including two brand new Postal Service songs, “Turn Around” and “A Tattered Line of String” (available here right now!). If there was ever record that deserved getting all deluxed up, it is most certainly this.

If you pre-order the 10th Anniversary Edition of Give Up from, you’ll receive a limited-edition Postal Service postcard set. We’re also giving people who pre-order the 3xLP vinyl version of the album the multi-colored, limited Loser Edition of Give Up. We’re also giving people who pre-order Give Up an instant download to the new song, “A Tattered Line of String”. And a note on limited-edition things: you’ve got to act quick to get yours.

Pre-order Give Up Deluxe 10th Anniversary and claim your postcards and Loser Edition LP.

Speaking of a tattered line of string, that decade-old Postal Service shirt you’ve been rocking is probably getting a little threadbare by now—not that you still don’t look good in it—it may just be time to re-up on your PS gear. We have two brand new Postal Service t-shirt designs to solve that problem. Here and here.

Give Up Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition facts:
- 2xCD/3xLP + Postal Service t-shirt bundles available
- Remastered 10-track original album
- 15 bonus tracks including two brand new songs and covers by The Shins and Iron & Wine
- Stream “A Tattered Line of String”, one of the two new Postal Service tracks in the accompanied YouTube player.

The Postal Service will also be setting out on a 10th anniversary tour with Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamberello as well as Jenny Lewis (Rilo Kiley, Jenny & Johnny). For ticketing and additional show info, click here.

04/09/13 Tue – Reno NV @ Grand Sierra Theatre

04/10/13 Wed – Davis CA @ Mondavi Center

04/13/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella

04/12/13 Fri – San Luis Obispo CA @ Madonna Expo Center (SOLD OUT)

04/18/13 Thu – Phoenix AZ @ Comerica Theatre

04/19/13 Fri – Las Vegas NV @ Chelsea Ballroom at the Cosmopolitan

04/20/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella

05/18/13 Sat – Manchester UK @ Academy 2 (SOLD OUT)

05/19/13 Sun – London UK @ Brixton Academy

05/20/13 Mon – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT)

05/21/13 Tues – Paris FR @ Trianon

05/23/13 Thu – Barcelona SP @ Primavera Soundwave

06/14/13 Fri – New York NY @ Barclays Center (SOLD OUT)

Posted by Sam Sawyer

NEWS : TUE, JAN 22, 2013 at 3:03 AM

Postal Service Give Up Reissue and Spring Tour


The rumors have been flying for the past week or so, and yes, it’s true, The Postal Service is reuniting this spring to celebrate the 10th anniversary and deluxe edition reissue of their well loved release, Give Up! This is a rumor we couldn’t be more thrilled to confirm. While many of the details are still being firmed up, here’s what we do know: on April 9th, there’s going to be a deluxe reissue of Give Up available on 2xCD and 3xLP featuring the 10 original album songs + 15 bonus songs including 2 brand new songs. The news of the deluxe reissue also brings with it news of the first live shows from The Postal Service in ten years! Dates will be announced as they are confirmed—check back in for that news.

Give Up Deluxe Reissue Tracklisting:
Disc 1 (Original Album):

1) The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
2) Such Great Heights
3) Sleeping In
4) Nothing Better
5) Recycled Air
6) Clark Gable
7) We Will Become Silhouettes
8) This Place Is a Prison
9) Brand New Colony
10) Natural Anthem

Disc 2 (New Tracks, Rarities, B-Sides, Remixes, Cover Versions, etc.):

1) Turn Around
2) A Tattered Line of String
3) Be Still My Heart
4) There’s Never Enough Time
5) Suddenly Everything Has Changed
6) Against All Odds (Take a Look At Me Now)
7) Grow Old With Me
8) Such Great Heights (John Tejada Remix)
9) The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (DJ Downfall Persistent Beat Mix)
10) Be Still My Heart (Nobody Remix)
11) We Will Become Silhouettes (Matthew Dear Remix)
12) Nothing Better (Styrofoam Remix)
13) Recycled Air (Live on KEXP)
14) We Will Become Silhouettes (Performed by The Shins)
15) Such Great Heights (Performed by Iron and Wine)

Posted by Sam Sawyer