Vetiver Tight Knit

Vetiver Tight Knit

Release Date February 17, 2009

Catalog No SP795

Tight Knit is the fourth full-length album from Vetiver, singer/songwriter Andy Cabic’s ever-evolving musical home base. Luminous and surprising, Tight Knit unfolds like a road trip down Highway 1, towards Cabic’s home in San Francisco. It represents a summation of the different styles and directions heard on past Vetiver releases, while it introduces some unexpected twists. Recorded in Sacramento at The Hangar and in LA at Melva, Tight Knit was produced by longtime Vetiver collaborator Thom Monahan. Vetiver’s songs have been described as “dreamy, gentle songs that George Harrison would have written in some sunny country garden.” Happily, that element remains alive and well on Tight Knit, as evidenced in songs like album opener “Rolling Sea” and “Everyday.” The album also introduces new aspects of the band’s sound with the light bop of “Sister” and “On the Other Side,” and the faraway and ethereal “Down from Above” and “At Forest Edge.” Tight Knit is layered and rich, with subtleties and nuances that reveal themselves with repeated listening. While there’s also more immediate gratification than on past Vetiver releases, Tight Knit is an album that rewards your attention.

You can download an mp3 of the song Everyday right here, for free!

Featured Videos


  1. Rolling Sea
  2. Sister
  3. Everyday
  4. Through the Front Door
  5. Down from Above
  6. On the Other Side
  7. More of This
  8. Another Reason to Go
  9. Strictly Rule
  10. At Forest Edge