Red Red Meat Bunny Gets Paid: Deluxe Edition

Red Red Meat Bunny Gets Paid: Deluxe Edition

Release Date March 24, 2009

Catalog No SP778

Formats 2xCD and Digital

Red Red Meat’s third full-length record, 1995’s Bunny Gets Paid has been out of print and unavailable for the past several years. And, while that’s a genuine shame on the face of it, it also provides a really good excuse for a deluxed-up reissue. In a recent reassessment of Red Red Meat’s catalog on Pitchfork Managing Editor Mark Richardson commented, “Having lived with these records for a decade plus now, I can say with confidence that this is Red Red Meat’s best by far. It’s one of the best pure rock records of the 1990s, actually, though it’s not exactly pure.”

We at Sub Pop heartily agree and have been talking about putting together this expanded reissue for the better part of a year now. In this deluxe edition, the original album has been remastered by Red Red Meat’s own Brian Deck and is accompanied by a 7-song 2nd disc of alternate, demo and single versions of album tracks, plus b-sides, covers and a previously unreleased song from the same era (“St. Anthony’s Jawbone”), all put together by the band. And it’s all packaged with expanded and enhanced album art. Bunny Gets Paid is easily one of the high points in the entire Sub Pop catalog (which is no one’s idea of “pure” either…), and we’re exceedingly proud to present it in this new version.

Featured Videos


  1. Carpet of Horses
  2. Chain Chain Chain
  3. Rosewood, Wax, Voltz + GlitterRosewood, Wax, Voltz + Glitter
  4. Buttered
  5. GauzeGauze
  6. Idiot Son
  7. Variations on Nadia's Theme
  8. Oxtail
  9. Sad Cadillac
  10. Taxidermy Blues in Reverse
  11. There's Always Tomorrow
  12. Chain Chain Chain (4-track demo)
  13. Idiot Son (single version)
  14. Words
  15. Mouse-ish (dub mix)
  16. Carpet of Horses (Cleversly version)
  17. St. Anthony's Jawbone
  18. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)