Pissed Jeans Hope for Men

Pissed Jeans Hope for Men

Release Date June 5, 2007

Catalog No SP730

Following on the heels of their monumental “Don’t Need Smoke to Make Myself Disappear” 7”, Pissed Jeans drop album number 2 and their Sub Pop debut: Hope for Men (we like to think of it in the “mankind” sense). For those who found a glimmer of the stuff on the aforementioned single (two pressings of which have sold out), the album delivers more, and in abundance. That is to say, if classic, thick-as-glue punk bombast and Aussie sludge stoke the coals of your existence, you have found, not only your new favorite band, but a reason to get up in the morning.

Since 2004 the Jeans have spent many a night playing in their hometown, no-rules hellhole, Allentown’s legendary Jeff the Pigeon (RIP). Their first single, “Throbbing Organ” and album, Shallow (both originally on Parts Unknown) set many self-styled punk scholars’ hearts a-flutter. Songs like “Ugly Twin” sent jaws floor-ward by including a plaintive piano part in a bruiser of a song. Such touches abound on Hope for Men. The album is diverse, but the Jeans ain’t no dilettantes. Mixing volatility with humor is a damned hard thing to master in music. Pissed Jeans do it with smarts and poignancy. Consider the bar raised.

Pissed Jeans are:
Bradley Fry—guitar
Dave Rosenstraus—bass
Matt Korvette—vocals
Sean McGuinness—drums

The NY Times covers a Pissed Jeans show, reflects on bad vibes

Featured Videos


  1. People PersonPeople Person
  2. Secret Admirer
  3. A Bad Wind
  4. Scrapbooking
  5. I've Still Got You (Ice Cream)I've Still Got You (Ice Cream)
  6. Fantasy World
  7. I'm Turning Now
  8. Caught Licking Leather
  9. The Jogger
  10. My Bed