Foals Antidotes

Foals Antidotes

Release Date April 8, 2008

Catalog No SP775

Foals are a five-piece dance-rock band currently living in and native to the town of Oxford, England. Completing the circuit between the minimalism of American composer Steve Reich, guitars that sound like insects and tennis player Andy Roddick, theirs is a uniquely winning formula. Driving percussion high in the mix, guitars played above the 12th fret, no chords, splashes of synth color all come together like the schematics for a piece of precision engineering. And there’s something strange about those guitars. “They’re meant to sound like insects,” offers singer/guitarist Yannis Philippakis, “like a cloud of insects forming these strange harmonies.”

In June 2007, Foals traveled to Brooklyn, NY to record Antidotes, with TV on the Radio guitarist and producer (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Liars) David Sitek. Recording took five weeks. The horn section from afrobeat band Antibalas played on five tracks and Celebration’s Katrina Ford sang on another. Lauded as both “Snotty art school dropouts hungry for the dollar,” and “…one of the new bands that will define 2008” (by NME), Antidotes is the debut album by Foals.

“Hummer” and “Mathletics” (tracks 12 and 13 on the CD and Digital tracklists) are bonus tracks for Sub Pop’s US release and were previously available on UK 7” singles. All formats come with a digital download including these bonus tracks.

Featured Videos


  1. The French Open
  2. Cassius
  3. Red Socks Pugie
  4. Olympic Airways
  5. Electric Bloom
  6. BalloonsBalloons
  7. Heavy Water
  8. Two Steps, Twice
  9. Big Big Love (Fig. 2)
  10. Like Swimming
  11. Tron
  12. Hummer
  13. Mathletics