Ben Sollee and Daniel Martin Moore Dear Companion

Release Date February 16, 2010

Catalog No SP855

Dear Companion is a collaboration between three Kentucky musicians; the songs were written and performed by Ben Sollee and Daniel Martin Moore, produced by and featuring Yim Yames of My Morning Jacket and Monsters of Folk. Recorded in the first half of 2009 in their home state, Dear Companion explores their ties to the place they love and aims to draw attention to the problem of Mountaintop Removal coal mining (MTR) and its impact on the people and heritage of central Appalachia. A portion of the proceeds from Dear Companion will benefit Appalachian Voices, an organization devoted to ending MTR and finding a better way forward. Ben and Daniel will tour together around the record’s release–dates are still TBD, but will be posted here when they’re available: Ben Sollee and Daniel Martin Moore tour dates. Daniel’s debut album, Stray Age, produced by Joe Chiccarelli, came out in October 2008 on Sub Pop. Ben’s debut album, Learning to Bend, was released in June of 2008 on sonaBlast!

Featured Videos


  1. Something, Somewhere, SometimeSomething, Somewhere, Sometime
  2. My Wealth Comes to Me
  3. Needn't Say a Thing
  4. Wilson Creek
  5. Only a Song
  6. Dear Companion
  7. Flyrock Blues
  8. Try
  9. Flyrock #2
  10. Sweet Marie
  11. It Won't Be Long