NEWS : WED, MAY 15, 2024 at 7:00 AM

Loma Shares “Pink Sky” Animated Official Video

Today, May 15th, Loma (Emily Cross, Dan Duszynski, Jonathan Meiburg) shares “Pink Sky,” a dubby and mischievous standout from How Will I Live Without a Body?, out June 28th worldwide from Sub Pop.
The official “Pink Sky” video was directed and animated by Sabrina Nichols (youbet’s “Nurture,” The Smile’s A Light For Attracting Attention), working from watercolor artwork by Emily Cross.
Loma’s Jonathan Meiburg says, “This mischievous little song was a late addition to the album. We recorded it in a chilly, whitewashed room in southern England, and we didn’t have many instruments to work with at first - just a nylon string guitar, a 2-piece drum set, a Casio keyboard, and a clarinet. But we liked the challenge.”
Loma’s How Will I Live Without a Body? was self-produced and recorded in England, Texas, and Germany, mixed by Dan Duszynski, and mastered by Steve Fallone at Sterling Sound in New York. All songs were composed by the group—with a few nudges from a unique AI (see below).
How Will I Live Without a Body? is a gorgeous, unique, and oddly comforting album about partnership, loss, regeneration, and fighting a sense that we’re all in this alone. Many of its songs have a feeling of restless motion; faceless characters drift through meetings and partings, tangling together and slipping away. Throughout, the core of Loma’s sound remains intact: earthy, organic, and deeply human, anchored by Cross’s cool, clear voice.
Loma’s previous album, Don’t Shy Away, was galvanized by kind words from Brian Eno; this time they were inspired by another hero, Laurie Anderson, who offered a chance to work with an AI trained on her work. The band sent it two photos, and Anderson’s AI responded with two haunting poems. “We used fragments of these poems in two songs,” says Meiburg. “And then Dan noticed that one of AI-Laurie’s lines, ‘How will I live without a body?’ was perfect name for the album, since we nearly lost sight of each other in the recording process.” (Read more at Sub Pop).
How Will I Live Without a Body? is available to preorder on CD/LP/digitally worldwide from Sub Pop. LP preorders from, and select independent stores in North America will receive the limited Loser edition on Transparent Smoke Vinyl. In the UK and Europe, LP preorders through Sub Pop’s new Mega Mart 2, and UK/EU Independent retailers will receive the Loser edition on Neon Orange Vinyl (All whilst stock lasts!)
What people are saying about Loma:
“Dusty piano arpeggios carry “How It Starts” by the off-again, on-again trio Loma, whose members overcame career and geographical separations to record a new album, How Will I Live Without a Body? The song itself suggests a tentative but inevitable reunion: “This is how it starts to move again,” Emily Cross sings, as Jonathan Meiburg (from Shearwater) and Dan Duszynski build an arrangement behind her, gathering heft as they reconvene.” - “The Playlist” - New York Times
“Gorgeous” [“How It Starts”] - Brooklyn Vegan
“Musically, the track is fascinating, all purposeful scatters of piano keys and contrastingly driving percussion, that feels like it’s dragging the whole thing forward, the ray of sunshine chipping away at the ice, daring it to crack…From a woven coffin to a stunning rebirth, Loma are back and on this evidence might just be even more vital than ever.” [“How It Starts”] “Five Things We Liked This Week (#1)” - For The Rabbits
“A beautiful return, it inaugurates a fresh chapter with tremendous guile, while Emily Cross sculpts the hypnotic video.” [“How It Starts”] - CLASH

How Will I Live Without A Body?
1. Please, Come In
2. Arrhythmia
3. Unbraiding
4. I Swallowed a Stone
5. How It Starts
6. Dark Trio
7. A Steady Mind
8. Pink Sky
9. Broken Doorbell
10. Affinity
11. Turnaround

Posted by Abbie Gobeli