NEWS : WED, AUG 16, 2023 at 7:00 AM

Hear New Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 8 Tracks From Thrash Palace (Feat. EMA, Vice Cooler, & Sarah Register), Turkish Artist Gaye Su Akyol, And A Collaborative Single By Jessica Winter & Clipping’s Jonathan Snipes

Today, Wednesday, August 16th, marks the release of new Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 8 contributions from Thrash Palace, Gaye Su Akyol, and a collaborative project from Clipping’s Jonathan Snipes and singer Jessica Winter – each available now on all DSPs and as limited-edition vinyl 7” singles.

Thrash Palace is the new supergroup composed of Erika M. Anderson, Vice Cooler, and Sarah Register. In 2022, guitarist Register (Talk Normal, Kim Gordon, and UK-based trio Better Corners), LA-based producer Cooler (XBXRX, Kim Gordon, Peaches, Louisahhh, AH-MER-AH-SU), and Anderson (aka EMA, also of Gowns, Amps for Christ) pulled off a 48-hour recording session at Cooler’s studio, thus birthing Thrash Palace. 

Two songs from the session form Thrash Palace’s debut single. On the anthemic “Go,” Anderson’s growling voice rides alongside Register’s barnstorming guitar and Cooler’s stadium-ready drums, pounding out an urgent heartbeat. The contemplative B-side “Teenage Spaceship” highlights the interwoven vocals of Anderson and Register. The two songs offer a tantalizing taste of what’s to come from the trio.

Gaye Su Akyol is a singer, painter, and anthropologist from Istanbul, Turkey. Her two new, self-produced tracks for the Singles Club fuse hard rock, surf, and electronic music to push at the boundaries of rock and Anatolian psychedelic music (see New York Times Dec. 2019 feature).

Their single leads with a cover of “Love Buzz,” originally by the Dutch psych band Shocking Blue, and famously covered by Nirvana on their 1988 debut single. It is a fitting tribute to the huge impact Nirvana had on Akyol in at a young age. The B-side, “‘Böyle Olur Mu,” breathes new life into the song with hard-to-forget electro baglama, thick bass riffs, heroic guitars, and dark beats. Akyol has a series of US dates in September that includes stops in Philly, DC, Boston, NYC, SF, and Seattle. 

Jessica Winter is a musician and producer from the UK. She has produced Mercury Prize winners The Big Moon, and remixed Metronomy, among others. She’s an electronic pop artist but has toured with the likes of Death Grips. Jonathan Snipes is an LA-based composer and sound designer for film and theater, occasional sound-design teacher at UCLA, and member of the rap group clipping.

The pair’s Singles Club Vol. 8 release, “All I Need” b/w “Finish Line,” resulted from a collaborative session, about which Winter says: “We made these songs in Jonathan’s studio on a short stay in Los Angeles. His studio is wall-to-wall modular synth and analog drum machines. I’d come straight from a party in downtown where most people were on crystal meth, and so I was inspired by this new culture I’d stumbled upon. Thinking about the basic needs of life and what things reduce to, ultimately.”

Subscribe to the Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 8 now to get twelve super-limited 7” vinyl records featuring exclusive music by today’s finest musicians! It’s limited to a mere 835 subscriptions, because it’s volume 8, and 2023 is Sub Pop’s 35th birthday! You’ll get 7”s by Thrash Palace, Gaye Su Akyol, Jessica Winter & Jonathan Snipes, along with Margarita Podridas, Brontez Purnell, Vanishing Twin, Suki Waterhouse, and more. And, to top it all off, you’ll get a lavish storage box, with art by @oldsweaty, to keep the records together. 

You will get two singles in the mail roughly every other month though February 2024. Computer users: fear not! You will also get digital downloads of the tracks through your Sub Pop Mega Mart account. Hear music from the series via the Singles Club playlist, and subscribe here.

Thrash Palace 

“Go” b/w “Teenage Spaceship”

Gaye Su Akyol
“Love Buzz” b/w “Böyle Olur Mu”

Jessica Winter & Jonathan Snipes

“All I Need” b/w “Finish Line”

Posted by Abbie Gobeli