NEWS : TUE, APR 25, 2023 at 6:59 AM

Frankie Cosmos Announces Clean Weird Prone (Inner World Peace Deluxe) Available Now On All DSPs

Today, April 25th, 2023, Sub Pop will digitally release Frankie Cosmos’ Clean Weird Prone (Inner World Peace Deluxe)an expanded edition of the band’s critically acclaimed 2022 album, Inner World Peace.

Clean Weird Prone includes the original 15-track Inner World Peace tracklist, along with unreleased tracks, demos, and alternate versions of the album’s songs. Frankie Cosmos’s mastermind, Greta Kline, shares about this release:
“Maybe it’s ego, maybe it’s an obsession with archiving, maybe it’s just for fun. But I have always had a bit of a focus on preserving the first way the song went. It’s hard for me to let go of my demos. These are some of the many seeds of the album. I wanted to share a sampling (I have about 5 times as much material) because Inner World Peace was a drawn-out and unique album process. “Since forming the band, I have always had tours breaking up writing and arranging time…until 2020. This was also the first album since Zentropy that I wrote without any release plan or hopes to tour. I think that freeness can be felt in the album and the demos. 
My demo-ing process is extremely stripped down, and until 2020 I recorded my vocals straight into my computer mic or my earbud mic (track 5, “hey whatsup” is from that era). I can still carry my whole recording setup (sans instruments) in a tote bag. When I think about these recordings, I can physically place myself in a lot of them. Beds, floors, sometimes desks or tables. The internal and personal moment with the core of the song before it gets shared with bandmates and producers and expanded into the butterfly. These are my cocoons!”

Photo credit: Pooneh Ghana

As previously announced, Frankie Cosmos has a string of outdoor headline shows that begin on May 4th, in Los Angeles, with additional dates in Big Sur and San Francisco. The band is also confirmed to play Kilby Block Party Festival in Salt Lake City, UT, on May 12th. 

Fri. May 12 - Salt Lake City, UT - Kilby Block Party #
Sun. May 07 - San Francisco, CA - The chapel (outside)
Fri. May 05 - Big Sur, CA - Henry miller library $
Thur. May 04 - Los Angeles, CA - spoke cafe $
Wed. May 03 - Joshua Tree, CA - The Firehouse $

#  w/ The Strokes, Pavement, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs + more 

$  w/ Dear Nora

These dates mark Frankie Cosmos’s first time playing outside of their hometown of NYC since 2019 and are in support of Inner World Peace. The album and its singles garnered praise from The New York Times, PAPER, PitchforkBrooklyn Vegan, Consequence, PASTEUnder The Radar (“Best Albums of 2022”), and Uproxx.

Frankie Cosmos
Clean Weird Prone (Inner World Peace Deluxe)
1. Abigail
2. Aftershook
3. Fruit Stand
4. Magnetic Personality
5. Wayne
6. Sky Magnet
7. A Work Call
8. Empty Head
9. Fragments 
10. Prolonging Babyhood
11. One Year Stand
12. F.O.O.F.
13. Street View
14. Spare the Guitar
15. Heed the Call
16. one year stand (Alex moodboard)
17. empty head (demo)
18. aftershook (demo)
19. i’m not worried
20. hey whatsup
21. fragments (demo)
22. sky magnet (Alex demo)
23. a work call (demo)
24. wayne (demo)
25. must be nice (single tear)

What people are saying about Frankie Cosmos Inner World Peace:
“Minimal and impressionistic — a collection of small features that coalesce into a vivid landscape.” [“One Year Stand”] - PAPER
“Instrumentally understated, with cheeky and sweet lyrics sung in Greta’s classic whispery tone. The band stays true to their bedroom indie sound through the song and music video”  [“One Year Stand”] - Brooklyn Vegan
“Patient and lush.” [“One Year Stand”] - Uproxx
“Dreamy”  [“One Year Stand”] - Consequence of Sound
“The band’s instrumentation feels more substantial, bringing in a loose, psychedelic groove that feels like new ground. Buoyed by a winsome melody and spirited rhythm section, Frankie Cosmos’ latest single “F.O.O.F.” (“Freak Out on Friday”), continues this collaborative streak.  Kline is abuzz with anticipation on the power-pop gem…” - Pitchfork
“Robert Smith was in love on Friday, Rebecca Black had to get down on Friday and now Greta Kline — leader of the indie-pop project Frankie Cosmos — freaks out on Friday. That’s what the playful acronym “F.O.O.F.” stands for and, accordingly, the latest single from Frankie Cosmos’s forthcoming album “Inner World Peace” is alive with Kline’s signature wry, muted humor. “It’s still Wednesday, I have to wait two more sleeps ’til I can freak,” Kline sighs, while a mildly noodly guitar solo saves up its most raucous energy. That the brief song ends before that promised freakout is the point: Kline is more interested in capturing that hopeful, anticipatory feeling — usually a comforting fiction — that everything will be all right once the weekend comes.”  - New York Times
“Their latest preview of the record, “F.O.O.F.” (short for “Freak Out on Friday”) is a concise song about the way certain feelings are anything but. Over a breezy pop-rock instrumental accented by gently psychedelic guitars and keys, Kline marvels at the elasticity of time…the band’s own history folding in on itself. The song captures, on multiple levels, how the pandemic era has rewritten the rules of societal tension and release, complicating emotional regulation to the point that we each have to get reacquainted with who we really are.” - PASTE

Posted by Rachel White