NEWS : WED, MAR 22, 2023 at 7:00 AM

Hannah Jadagu Shares “Warning Sign” Lyric Video

On Friday, May 19th, Hannah Jadagu (pron. juh-dah-goo) will release Aperture, her first full-length effort on CD/LP/CS/DSPs worldwide from Sub Pop.
On Aperture, Jadagu says, “There’s rock Hannah, there’s hip-hop Hannah, and so on. I didn’t want any of the songs to sound too alike.” Emblematic of this ethos is the new single “Warning Sign,” which starts out as an acoustic R&B slowburner before a muscular electric guitar enters the mix, and the song morphs into something akin to psychedelic. Jadagu continues, “‘Warning Sign’ was practically the last song Max (co-producer) and I recorded for the album. It almost was just a short interlude, but I was inspired by a melody that my sister sang on the original demo, which led Max and I to be able to piece together the rest of the sounds in the studio.” Watch and listen via the new lyric video here.
Last week, Jadagu appeared at SXSW, and has scheduled a few early shows to support Aperture, including Saturday, March 25th in Boise, Idaho at Treefort Festival, and Saturday, August 26th, in Salt Lake City, Utah at Mind the Gap Festival. A New York City release show and a headlining tour for 2023 will be announced soon.
In February, Jadagu released “What You Did,” the rousing lead single from Aperture, which leverages crushing accusations against the song’s unnamed subject. Screaming static and a crunchy guitar part softens under Jadagu’s calm delivery. The song earned praise for Jadagu from the likes of The New York Times, who says, “[“What You Did”] is suffused with a dreamy atmosphere, but her lyrics pierce right through the haze: “I know what you did,” she sings, repeatedly, to the object of her disappointment…[it] showcases Jadagu’s easy aptitude with lilting melodies and her love of deliciously crunchy texture.” Meanwhile, Stereogum offered this, “[“What You Did”] is crunchy and satisfying, a blast of fuzz.”
Jadagu’s Aperture features 12 tracks, including “Lose,” “Admit It,” “Say it Now,” and the aforementioned “What You Did” and “Warning Sign,” was co-produced by Jadagu and Max Robert Baby at Greasy Studios Paris, mixed by Marcus Linon, and mastered by Dave Cooley at Elysian Mastering. Aperture follows the release of Jadagu’s acclaimed What Is Going On? digital-only EP, and stand-alone single “All My Time Is Wasted,” also available on Sub Pop.
Aperture is available for preorder now from Sub Pop. LP preorders from, select independent retailers in North America, and the UK and EU, will receive the limited Loser edition on red transparent vinyl (while supplies last).

Hannah Jadagu

1. Explanation
2. Say It Now
3. Six Months
4. What You Did
5. Lose
6. Admit It
7. Dreaming
8. Shut Down
9. Warning Sign
10. Scratch The Surface
11. Letter To Myself
12. Your Thoughts Are Ur Biggest Obstacle

Posted by Abbie Gobeli