Sub Pop


The Postal Service Give Up

  • 1873
  • 6686
  • 6685
  • 6684

Release Date February 18, 2003

Catalog No SP595

Formats 2xLP, MP3, and CD

The Postal Service is a long-distance collaboration between Ben Gibbard (singer/guitarist from Death Cab for Cutie) and Jimmy Tamborello (Jimmy recorded the Beachwood Sparks album Make the Cowboy Robots Cry and also records under the name Dntel). Ben and Jimmy sent music back and forth, between California and Washington, each adding new elements until the record was complete. The result is a sweetly charming, largely electronic album with a warmth not typically associated with the clicks-and-beeps set. As an added bonus, additional vocals on the record are provided by Jen Wood and Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis.

If you’re at all like us, then there’s no doubt that you read the indie rock gossip blogs (maybe a little too much, amirite?), and you likely found out that the great and tragically long-inactive Postal Service are in fact reactivating to play some things (things like Coachella) and that their debut (and singular) record, Give Up, is to be reissued by us here at Sub Pop Records and will feature 15 bonus tracks, two of which are brand new, on April 9th. In order to dispel any possible confusion, the page that you are currently on is for the previously issued, original Give Up, not the 3xLP/2xCD, deluxe version of this classic. Pre-ordering will begin for the deluxe reissue on February 12th on this very web site. Thank you for your attention to this matter.


  1. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
  2. Such Great Heights
  3. Sleeping In
  4. Nothing Better
  5. Recycled Air
  6. Clark Gable
  7. We Will Become Silhouettes
  8. This Place Is a Prison
  9. Brand New Colony
  10. Natural Anthem