Iron & Wine Around the Well

Iron & Wine Around the Well

Release Date May 19, 2009

Catalog No SP808

Collecting songs ranging from out-of-print to never-before-released, Around the Well spans Iron & Wine’s earliest sessions which yielded the band’s debut (2002’s The Creek Drank the Cradle) through material recorded for 2007’s The Shepherd’s Dog. The double-disc Around the Well collection is broken up into two sections. The first half is an assortment of hushed home recordings, unedited and raw, and the second highlights moments captured in the confines of proper studios with the help of other musicians, friends and engineers. The album’s title comes from a line in the song “The Trapeze Swinger,” a fan favorite which was written for and included in the movie In Good Company. Three more songs written and recorded for the film finally make their appearance here as well: “Belated Promise Ring,” “God Made the Automobile” and “Homeward, These Shoes.” Around the Well also brings together hard-to-find covers such as The Flaming Lips’ “Waitin’ for a Superman” and New Order’s “Love Vigilantes,” along with one of Iron and Wine’s earliest originals, “Sacred Vision.”

Featured Videos


  1. Dearest Forsaken
  2. Morning
  3. Loud as Hope
  4. Peng! 33
  5. Sacred Vision
  6. Friends They Are Jewels
  7. Hickory
  8. Waitin' for a Superman
  9. Swans and the Swimming
  10. Call Your Boys
  11. Such Great Heights
  12. Communion Cups and Someone's Coat
  13. Belated Promise RingBelated Promise Ring
  14. God Made the Automobile
  15. Homeward These Shoes
  16. Love Vigilantes
  17. Sinning Hands
  18. No Moon
  19. Serpent Charmer
  20. Carried Home
  21. Kingdom of the Animals
  22. Arms of a Thief
  23. The Trapeze Swinger