Dntel Life Is Full of Possibilities (Deluxe)

Dntel Life Is Full of Possibilities (Deluxe)

Release Date October 24, 2011

Catalog No SP955

Los Angeles resident Jimmy Tamborello records, releases and occasionally performs music under the name Dntel. In 2007, we at Sub Pop released the Dntel album Dumb Luck which included contributions from a whole raft of talented people too numerous to list here (a short version of that list would include members of Grizzly Bear, Rilo Kiley, Bright Eyes, and Arthur & Yu). And at the end of 2010, we released a pair of companion EPs by Dntel, entitled After Parties 1 and After Parties 2. Together these two EPs total 8 tracks, all of them instrumental, and featuring (to the best of our “knowledge”) a list of guest contributors numbering exactly zero.

Back in 2001, we did not release the Dntel album Life Is Full of Possibilities. This album was originally released by the Plug Research label, and because we’ve always secretly wished we’d put it out back then, we’re releasing an expanded, re-mastered version of the album to mark its ten-year anniversary in October of 2011.

Life Is Full of Possibilities features collaborations with a number of guest artists, one of which, with Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard (on “(This Is) The Dream of Evan and Chan”), led to the formation of The Postal Service. Because Give Up, the 2003 album by The Postal Service, to date the group’s only full-length release, is Sub Pop’s second best-selling album of all time, this is worth noting. Also worth noting: Life Is Full of Possibilities was very well-received at the time of its original release, earning a 9.3 rave review from Pitchfork, and the following from the BBC: “Few electronic musicians out there have come close to the strength of the songwriting contained within this delicately produced CD.”

This double-CD version of the album will include the re-mastered version of the original album on one CD and a collection of both previously released and new remixes, plus outtakes and b-sides on the other. The double-LP version will spread the re-mastered original 10-track album across two pieces of vinyl at 45 33 rpm, with the bonus material included in the download that comes with the record. This will be the first time that Life Is Full of Possibilities has ever appeared on vinyl. We are exceedingly proud to be releasing this expanded, deluxed-up reissue of Life Is Full of Possibilities.

Up until the October 25th, 2011 release of this altogether deluxe reissue of Dntel’s Life is Full of Possibilities if you buy, from us, the vinyl LP format of the album, you will receive the Anywhere Anyone Remixes 12" as A FREE GIFT!


  1. Umbrella
  2. Anywhere Anyone
  3. Pillowcase
  4. Fear Of Corners
  5. Suddenly Is Sooner Than You Think
  6. Life Is Full Of Possibilities
  7. Why I'm So Unhappy
  8. Fireworks
  9. (This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan(This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan
  10. Last Songs
  11. (This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan (Safety Scissors Spilled My Drink Mix)
  12. (This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan (Barbara Morgenstern Remix)
  13. (This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan (Superpitcher Kompakt Remix
  14. (This Is) The Dream Of Evan And Chan (Lali Puna Remix)
  15. Your Hill
  16. This Is How It Will Be All Over
  17. Anywhere Anyone (Nobody Remix)
  18. Umbrella (Version 1)
  19. Footprints
  20. Last Songs (Vocal Version)
  21. Sorry_
  22. Anywhere Anyone (Silent Servant & Regis Sandwell District Mix)
  23. Anywhere Anyone (Pearson Sound Beatless Reduction)