clipping. The Deep

clipping. The Deep

Release Date November 29, 2019

Catalog No SP1226

Experimental hip-hop group Clipping’s “The Deep” is a dark sci-fi tale about the underwater-dwelling descendants of African women thrown off slave ships, based on the mythology of Detroit electronic group Drexciya. The song was originally commissioned for a This American Life about Afrofuturism in 2017. The track earned Clipping a nomination for a 2018 Hugo award, and the band constructed a sound installation based on “The Deep” at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art. This release comes on the heels of the November 5th release of The Deep, a novella by Rivers Solomon (with Clipping credited as co-authors) inspired by the title track and published by Saga Press. The vinyl and digital versions include two otherwise-unreleased extra tracks – including “Aquacode Databreaks,” which features Shabazz Palaces – and the vinyl edition includes instrumental versions of all three tracks.

Featured Videos


  1. The Deep
  2. Aquacode Databreaks (feat. Shabazz Palaces)Aquacode Databreaks (feat. Shabazz Palaces)
  3. Drownt
  4. The Deep (Instrumental)
  5. Aquacode Databreaks (Instrumental)
  6. Drownt (Instrumental)