Sub Pop


NEWS : TUE, FEB 18, 2014 at 12:00 AM

New Album + Video From The Afghan Whigs!

A few weeks ago, we got to pleasure ourselves by announcing that The Afghan Whigs would be back in business after a 16+ year hiatus (yes, we were that excited) which was received by applause from you. Well, today, Entertainment Weekly and Rolling Stone shared news of a new record, Do To The Beast, a brand new video for the new album track “Algiers”, and some words that they had with the man himself, Greg Dulli. Watch, read, and join the excitement party about the return of one of the keystone bands in the story of Sub Pop.

Pre-order Do To The Beast here, and receive your vinyl order on the limited, colored-vinyl Loser Edition of the record, in this case, on white. Oh, and watch the video in the embed!

Posted by Sam Sawyer

NEWS : THU, FEB 13, 2014 at 12:00 AM

Work Here (sorta): Sub Pop Seeks Manager For Sea-Tac Airport Retail Store

Help wanted sign


Wut? Yes, this is happening. Sup Pop Records is currently searching for an organized and self-motivating Retail Store Manager for a new store at the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, which will open in the Spring of 2014. Ideal candidates should have several years of experience running a retail store and should have knowledge of the Sub Pop catalog, Pacific Northwest music, the Seattle music community, and the city of Seattle. Interested? Know anyone? Please pass it along. For a more detailed job description, please read on. Send resumes to


Sub Pop Records is currently searching for an organized and self-motivated Retail Store Manager for a new store
at the Seatle -Tacoma International Airport, opening April 2014.

Responsibilities include:
  • Act as a liaison between the retail store operations, SeaTac Port personnel, and Sub Pop Headquarters.
  • Ensure that retail store operations are aligned with SeaTac operation rules and compliant with strict TSA regulations and restrictions.
  • Schedule employees, assign store responsibilities, monitor work results, and conduct performance
  • Maintain store staff by recruiting, selecting, training, coaching, and correcting employees.
  • Identify current and future customer requirements by establishing rapport with potential and actual customers and other persons in a position to understand industry and location trends.
  • Ensure availability of merchandise by maintaining inventories of the retail store and overstock.
  • Review merchandising activities; determine additional needed sales promotion; authorize pricing adjustments; study trends.
  • Secure merchandise by implementing security systems and measures.
  • Protect employees and customers by providing a safe and clean store environment.
  • Maintain the stability and reputation of the store by complying with legal and operational requirements.
  • Adapt marketing strategy by reviewing sales records by category.
  • Report daily sales and make bank deposits.
  • Contribute to the team retail effort by accomplishing related tasks as needed.

Our ideal candidate will have:
  • Several years of experience running a retail store.
  • Knowledge of the Sub Pop catalog, Pacific Northwest music, the Seattle music community, and the City of
  • A friendly and enthusiastic disposition with customers and staff, and also the ability to effectively manage
  • Strong and clear communication skills.
  • A general understanding of retail Point of Sale systems and the ability to troubleshoot if necessary.
  • The Sub Pop Retail Store will have unusually long hours, generally 6am - 10pm, and will remain open 365 days a year.

Please send a resume to Mary Wood at

Posted by Sam Sawyer

NEWS : WED, FEB 12, 2014 at 12:00 AM

The Notwist’s “Kong” Gets a Video Counterpart (Spoiler: It’s MAGICAL)

We’re just about two short weeks from The Notwist’s Sub Pop debut, Close To The Glass, and the band have given us a brand new animated short for the shimmering, propulsive, sonic diamond that is the album track “Kong”. The whole package–perfect song + tediously and endlessly charming animated short–is a wonderful cinematic experience. Be a hero and share it w/ a friend.

If you pre-order Close to the Glass, you will receive a set of small, limited-edition art prints. Speaking of limited-edition, if you pre-order the record on the vinyls, you’ll receive the limited, colored-vinyl Loser Edition of Close to the Glass; in this case a 2xLP, one orange and one blue with an etching on the fourth side of the LP (the etching will also be on non-Loser Edition LPs, BTW). And, as is always the case with limited-edition things, when they’re gone, they’re gone, so order now!

Posted by Sam Sawyer

TUE, FEB 11, 2014 at 12:00 AM

THUMPERS’ ‘Galore’ Officially in Brick & Mortar AND Virtual Music Stores!

Putting out a band’s debut record is a proud moment for the (not terribly proud) people of Sub Pop Records, and the London-based band THUMPERS’ debut, Galore, is no exception. Galore is an immediately engrossing, hopelessly catchy record that we’re stoked to stamp with the catalog number SP1062. If you order the record on LP from the Sub Pop Mega Mart, you’ll receive your copy on the limited, colored-vinyl Loser Edition of Galore. This is a classic while-they-last scenario, so order quickly!

Order THUMPERS’ Galore from here.

Posted by Sam Sawyer

NEWS : WED, FEB 5, 2014 at 12:00 AM

Shearwater Are On Tour! Download a new track now!

Shearwater have been a prolific bunch while on Sub Pop. Their label debut, Animal Joy, was followed quickly with the wonderful covers record, Fellow Travelers, a couple of 7” singles thrown in for good measure, and here we are today offering you a FREE download of the track ”Black Is The Color”, which was recorded at WNYC for the “Colors” episode for the truly enlightening radio show, Radiolab (if you’re not already into this show, do your brain a favor and get into them here).

In other Shearwater news, the band will be offering an exclusive, special limited release album throughout their current tour: Missing Islands is a 20-track collection of demos and outtakes from the sessions for RookThe Golden Archipelago, and Animal Joy, spanning the years from 2007 to 2012. Most of these recordings, which range from solo acoustic home recordings to full-band explorations, have never been released in any form, and they catch the songs halfway between sleeping and waking. It also features some songs that never made it out of the incubator, some memorable studio moments, and the sound of Thor fighting a mighty (but deceased) oak tree (he won). You can read some liner notes JM wrote about the release right now.

Shearwater Tour Dates

Posted by Sam Sawyer