NEWS : FRI, NOV 17, 2023 at 7:00 AM

Iron & Wine’s Who Can See Forever: The Soundtrack To The Forthcoming Film Is Now Available Worldwide

“It’s a fine close-up, so sharp you can almost catch the dust glinting in the lights as Beam showcases his willowy, supple songs.” MOJO
“The setlist is drawn from a discography now reaching back 20 years, and some of these songs have never sounded better, ‘Last Night’ a fabulous gothic country noir, ‘Thomas County Law’ resembling a Glen Campbell classic.” UNCUT
“serves as an antidote to that kind of engagement and has a way of putting into focus just how much we’ve been overlooking Sam Beam’s genius.” FLOOD
“This double LP refracts and reimagines Iron & Wine’s best-known songs with full, nearly orchestral arrangements realized in the warmth and immediacy of live performance. It’s a superb recap of Sam Beam’s artistic arc so far…” DUSTED

Today, November 17th, 2023, marks the release of Iron & Wine’s Who Can See Forever, an accompanying live record to a film of the same name, out worldwide from Sub Pop. 
Who Can See Forever, the film, is the first ever in-depth look into the life and music of Iron & Wine’s Sam Beam. Initially conceived as a live document, Who Can See Forever grew into a deeper study of its enigmatic subject as director Josh Sliffe spent more and more time on the road. Shot over the course of three years, Sliffe digs into the myth and ethos of Iron & Wine through a series of interviews and unguarded behind-the-scenes footage that welcome the viewer into the center of Beam’s universe.

The Who Can See Forever soundtrack features songs from Iron & Wine’s 20-plus-year career and is drawn from material recorded over a two-night-stand at the historic Haw River Ballroom in Saxapahaw, North Carolina. Along with Beam, the band features bassist Sebastian Steinberg (Fiona Apple, Soul Coughing), drummer Elizabeth Goodfellow (Allison Russell, Better Oblivion Community Center), cellist Teddy Rankin-Parker and keyboardist Eliza Hardy-Jones (War on Drugs, Grace Potter).
Produced by Sam Beam and recorded by his long-time live sound engineer Jelle Kuiper, the soundtrack was mixed by Matt Ross-Spang at Southern Grooves in Memphis, TN, and mastered by Richard Dodd in Nashville, TN.
The soundtrack is available on CD/2xLP/digitally worldwide from Sub Pop. LP orders from Iron & Wine’s official, and select independent stores in North America will receive the Loser edition on transparent glacial blue vinyl. In the UK and Europe, LP orders through Sub Pop’s new, Mega Mart 2, and UK/EU Independent retailers will receive the Loser edition on transparent sun yellow vinyl.
Who Can See Forever will see the first of its screenings in New York City on December 5th at Quad Cinema (more info). The film will screen in theaters in select cities throughout 2024 before platforming to streaming services. 
Iron & Wine will also appear at New York’s Beacon Theatre on Wednesday, December 6, 2023 for WFUV’s 17th annual Holiday Cheer for FUV concert. Iron & Wine will perform, along with reunited New Jersey rockers The Gaslight Anthem, dynamic singer and guitarist Grace Potter, and fast-rising San Diego trio Thee Sacred Souls. New Jersey-born, Nashville-based multi-tasking musician Nicole Atkins, who was FUV’s artist-in-residence in 2022, will host the evening.

More on Iron & Wine’s Who Can See Forever:
“All these elements work together to give the songs a new dimension, and whether they top the originals is beside the point; it is exciting enough to hear a band as good as this working with Beam in a live setting, taking chances and reaching deep inside the songs to extract shiny new gold. It’s hard to believe it took so long for Iron & Wine to document their live incarnation, but it is easy to believe that now that they finally have, it’s as sophisticated, burnished, and emotionally true as this.” ★★★★ ALL MUSIC
“Following his muse wherever it leads him, Sam Beam has crafted Who Can See Forever with the kind of care that makes these 19 songs something quite special. He has changed the hues, but the heart and soul of these songs still shine through in ways that reveal what a truly special artist he remains.” FOR FOLK’S SAKE

Iron & Wine
Who Can See Forever Soundtrack

1. The Trapeze Swinger
2. Boy with a Coin
3. Woman King
4. Thomas County Law
5. House by the Sea
6. About a Bruise
7. Sodom, South Georgia
8. Last Night
9. Monkeys Uptown
10. Wolves (Song of the Shepherd’s Dog)
11. Grace for Saints and Ramblers
12. Dearest Forsaken
13. Glad Man Singing
14. On Your Wings
15. Passing Afternoon
16. Pagan Angel and a Borrowed Car
17. Naked as We Came
18. Call Your Boys
19. Muddy Hymnal 

Posted by Abbie Gobeli