NEWS : MON, JUN 28, 2021 at 7:00 AM

Watch The Shins’ Oh, Inverted World (20th Anniversary Remaster) Official Videos With Newly Remastered Audio and HD Visuals “The Past and Pending” & “New Slang” (2004 Alternate Video) Available On YouTube For The First Time Ever

Earlier this month Sub Pop released the 20th Anniversary remastered version of The Shins’ much-beloved debut album Oh, Inverted World. Today, the videos for “The Past and Pending,” the album’s lamenting closing cut, and the 2004 Alternate Video for “New Slang,” are available for the first time ever as official uploads on YouTube. They both contain newly remastered audio and HD visual upgrades.  Updated versions of “Know Your Onion!” and the original, 2001 version of “New Slang,” are also available.
Originally released on June 19th, 2001, Oh, Inverted World is the earth-shattering, indie-rock-redefining album from The Shins, and is presented here in its finest form. The classic tunes get new life with mastering by Bob Ludwig, under band leader James Mercer’s watchful eye. The new front cover of this edition of Oh, Inverted World features an ‘inverted’ color scheme, on a die-cut jacket, and includes a booklet filled with vintage photos, handwritten lyrics, liner notes, and more.
The music on Oh, Inverted World is obviously essential, and this remastering truly makes this the album Mercer always wanted it to be. Never quite satisfied with the sonics of the original, Mercer took the 20th anniversary of the album as his opportunity to finally set the (literal!) record straight. And the results sound stellar: great for new fans, and well worth the attention for those who fell in love with it in the first place.
Oh, Inverted World saw new praise from the likes of MOJO (“The newly finessed sound is consistent with Mercer’s erudite craftsmanship.” ★★★★), UNCUT (8/10), The Sun (★★★★ ½) and Shindig (★★★★★), alongside reappraisals in interviews and reviews from the likes of BillboardEntertainment WeeklyApple MusicStereogumBrooklyn VeganFLOOD and Treble.

The Oh, Inverted World (20th Anniversary Remaster) is now available from megamart.subpop.comThe Shins merch store, select independent retailers in North Americathe U.K., EU, Australia and New Zealand. The vinyl LP will be available in the UK, Europe, Australia and New Zealand on July 23rd, 2021.

The Shins
Oh, Inverted World (20th Anniversary Remaster)
1. Caring Is Creepy
2. One by One All Day
3. Weird Divide
4. Know Your Onion!
5. Girl Inform Me
6. New Slang
7. The Celibate Life
8. Girl on the Wing
9. Your Algebra
10. Pressed in a Book
11. The Past and Pending

Posted by Abbie Gobeli