Sub Pop


Mark Lanegan Whiskey for the Holy Ghost


Release Date January 18, 1994

Catalog No SP132

Formats Cassette, CD, Digital, and LP

Whiskey for the Holy Ghost is the second solo album from Lanegan, and builds upon the roots music foundation that he had established with his debut The Winding Sheet. Released during the grunge explosion of the early 1990s, Whiskey for the Holy Ghost showcases Lanegan’s growing maturity as a songwriter and vocalist. Lyrically, Lanegan continues to delve into the darker side of the human experience on songs like “Borracho” and the biblical “Pendulum.” “House a Home” was released as a single with an accompanying video. Dan Peters of Mudhoney guests on the album, playing drums on the songs “Borracho” and “House a Home.”


  1. The River Rise
  2. Borracho
  3. House A Home
  4. Kingdoms Of RainKingdoms Of Rain
  5. Carnival
  6. Riding The Nightingale
  7. El Sol
  8. Dead On You
  9. Shooting Gallery
  10. Sunrise
  11. Pendulum
  12. Judas Touch
  13. Beggar's Blues