Sub Pop


News for Helplessness Blues

FRI, FEB 10, 2012 at 2:48 AM

fingers crossed

11183

The 53rd Grammys are taking place this coming Sunday, February 12 and we are geeking with excitement as Sub Pop’s own Fleet Foxes are up for “Best Folk Album.” Tune in to witness what we hope is a win for team Fleet Foxes. Click here for a full list of nominations.

Good luck guys!

XO

Sub Pop


Posted by Bekah Zietz

TUE, MAY 17, 2011 at 9:05 AM

Jiminy Fallon! Both Fleet Foxes and The Head and the Heart will be on the TV this week!

9366

In what even we (humble, modest simpletons that we are) recognize as a new personal best, both The Head and the Heart and Fleet Foxes will be appearing on the electronic babysitting machine this week! And, both of these appearances will be taking place on the Late Night with Jimmy Fallon program of very high standards and taste.

Like so:

On Wednesday, May 18th, The Head and the Heart will perform “Lost in My Mind” from their recently released and also self-titled and also debut album The Head and the Heart!

And then, on Friday, May 20th, Fleet Foxes will perform the song “Sim Sala Bim” from their even more recently released though neither self-titled nor debut (it’s their second) album Helplessness Blues!

It’s just this kind of audacious media exposure that has afforded us the mid-level renown we’re forever prattling on about, and we very much hope that you will tune in.

Plus! If you are in NY and would like to attend either or both of these sure-to-be-historic performances on the Late Night with Jimmy Fallon show, here is how you can enter to have a chance to do that very thing…

For The Head and the Heart

On May 18th, 2011 The Head and the Heart will be performing on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. Here is where you come in…

How would you like a chance to be close to The Head and the Heart’s performance on the show?

Click on the link below and you will be directed to our “Band Bench” Sweepstakes entry form. Enter for a chance to win seats on our band benches and an opportunity to surround the stage during The Head and the Heart’s performance.

Please make sure you include the following band code: HEA, in your entry form.

The Fallon Band Bench!

For Fleet Foxes

On May 20th, 2011 Fleet Foxes will be performing on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

[All of the same stuff as in the thing above, but find and replace “The Head and the Heart” with “Fleet Foxes”…]

Please make sure you include the following band code: FLE, in your entry form

The Fallon Band Bench!


Posted by Chris Jacobs

TUE, MAY 3, 2011 at 8:32 AM

Helplessness Blues: Please Buy It

9208

The new Fleet Foxes album Helplessness Blues is out now. We feel incredibly proud and privileged to be a part of this record and it’s a great thrill to finally release it. We’re fortunate to have the support from so many stores who have believed in this record. Below are links to buy the record in your preferred format.

Sub Pop CD/LP/Digital

Independent Retail – Find your local store here

Itunes Here

Amazon
CD
LP
MP3


Posted by Richard Laing

TUE, APR 26, 2011 at 5:11 AM

Fleet Foxes Release Events

9135

On May 3rd, Fleet Foxes’ stunning second album, Helplessness Blues is finally available. People who write articles for popular magazines seem to like it: SPIN 9/10, MOJO 5 stars, Rolling Stone 4 stars…. We hope you love it too. The CD and Double-LP come with a fold-out poster and the vinyl has a download code for a high quality mp3 version of the album.

A dizzying number of our nation’s finest independent record stores are celebrating the release of Fleet Foxes’ Helplessness Blues with midnight sales, listening parties and special giveaways. Each of these stores has a single copy of Helplessness Blues on white vinyl (one of only 200 pressed), as well as silk-screened posters, the sold-out Record Store Day 12-inch single, and some Sub Pop goodies. Contact the stores listed below to learn more about their individual plans and how you can attend and win special prizes.

Here’s the full list of participating stores:

Amoeba Music 2455 Telegraph Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704 www.amoeba.com
Boo Boo Records 978 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA, 93401 www.booboorecords.com
Bull Moose, ME (all locations!) www.bullmoose.com
Cactus Music, 2110 Portsmouth, Houston, TX, 77098 www.cactusmusictx.com
CD Central, 377 South Limestone, Lexington, KY, 40508 www.cdcentralmusic.com
Criminal Records, 1154-A Euclid Ave. NE, Atlanta, GA www.crinimalatl.com
Crooked Beat, 2116 18th Street NW, Washington DC www.crookedbeat.com
Dearborn Music, 22000 Michigan Ave, Dearborn, MI www.dearbornmusic.com
Decatur CD, 356 West Ponce De Leon Ave, Decatur, GA www.decaturcd.com
Dimple Records, CA (all locations!) www.dimple.com
Disc Exchange, 2615 Chapman Hwy, Knoxville, TN, 37920 www.discexchange.com
Ear X-tacy, 2226 Bardstown Rd., Louisville, KY, 40205 www.earx-tacy.com
Earshot, 1418 Laurens Road, Greenville, SC, 29607 www.earshot.com
Easy Street Records, (Queen Anne and West Seattle) www.easystreetonline.com
Electric Fetus, 2000 4th Ave South, Minneapolis, MN, 55404 www.electricfetus.com
Flat Black and Circular, 541 E Grand River, East Lansing, MI, 48823 www.flatblackandcircular.com
Good Records, 1808 Greenville Ave, Dallas, TX, 75206 www.goodrecords.com
Graywhale, UT (all locations) www.fatfin.com
Homer’s Music, 1210 Howard St, Omaha, NE, 68102 www.homersmusic.com
J&R, 23 Park Row, New York, NY, 10038 www.jr.com
Jack’s Music, 30 Bank St., Red Bank, NJ, 07701 www.jacksmusicshoppe.com
Looney Tunes, 31 Brookvale Ave, West Babylon, NJ, 11704 www.looneytunescds.com
Luna Music, 5202 N. College Ave, Indianapolis, IN, 46220 www.lunamusic.net
Magnolia Thunderpussy, 1155 N High St, Cols, OH, 43201 www.thunderpussy.com
Monster, 946 Orleans Rd #4, Charleston, SC, 29407 www.monstermusicandmovies.com
M-Theory, 915 W. Washington St, San Diego, CA, 92103 www.mtheorymusic.com
Music Millennium, 3158 East Burnside, Portland, OR, 972103 www.musicmillennium.com
Other Music, 15 E. 4th Street, New York, NY, 10003 www.othermusic.com
Park Ave, 2916 Corrine Drive, Orlando, FL, 32803 www.parkavecds.com
Pure Pop, 115 S Winooski Ave, Burlington, VT, 05401 www.purepoponline.com
Rasputin Music, 2401 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA, 94704 www.rasputinmusic.com
Record Exchange, 1105 W. Idaho St, Boise, ID, 83702 www.therecordexchange.com
Record Archive, 33 1/3 Rockwood St, Rochester, NY, 14610 www.recordarchive.com
Record Theatre, Amherst, and Buffalo, NY www.recordtheatre.com
Repo Music, 538 South St, Philadelphia, PA, 19147 www.reporecords.com
Salzer’s Records, 5777 Valentine Road, Ventura, CA, 93003 www.salzers.com
Schoolkids, Raleigh NC and Athens, GA www.facebook.com/schoolkids
Silver Platters, 704 5th Ave N, Seattle, WA, 98109 www.silverplatters.com
Sonic Boom (Ballard and Capitol Hill) www.sonicboomrecords.com
Stinkweeds, 12 West Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ, 85013 www.stinkweeds.com
Strictly Discs, 1900 Monroe St, Madison, WI, 53711 www.strictlydiscs.com
The Groove, 1103 Calvin Ave, Nashville, TN, 37206 www.thegroovenashville.com
The Sound Garden, 1616 Thames St, Baltimore, MD, 21231 www.cdjoint.com
Twist and Shout, 2508 E. Colfax, Denver, CO, 80206 www.twistandshout.com
Uncle Sam’s, 1141 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 www.unclesamsmusic.net
Vintage Vinyl, 51 Lafayette Rd., Fords, NJ, 08863 www.vvinyl.com
Vintage Vinyl, 6610 Delmar Blvd, St Louis, 63130 www.vintagevinyl.com
Waterloo Records, 600-A N Lamar, Austin, TX, 78703 www.waterloorecords.com
Wax’n’Facts, 432 Moreland Ave, Atlanta, GA, 30307 www.waxnfacts.com
Zia Records, AZ and NV (all locations) www.ziarecords.com


Posted by Richard Laing

FRI, APR 22, 2011 at 7:52 AM

We know the guy on the cover of SPIN this month, we’re pretty sure.

9125

Here at Sub Pop Records in Seattle, WA sometimes we like to look at magazines about music. One of those magazines about music is SPIN. And, we’re pretty sure that we know the guy on the cover of the May 2011 issue of SPIN. Consider the evidence…

— For starters, there is, on the cover of the May 2011 issue of SPIN, a big picture of a guy who looks STRIKINGLY like Robin Pecknold from the band Fleet Foxes (whose kind of amazing 2nd record, Helplessness Blues, we are putting out on May 3rd). The resemblance is uncanny.

— And then! There’s the following clue made of words, also on the cover of this May 2011 issue of SPIN: “Robin Pecknold of Fleet Foxes and the making of the year’s most beautiful album.”

It’s got to be him, right? Just this side of reading the cover story within the actual magazine, we’re fairly confident it is.

When you are a world-famous record label like we are, you get used to seeing the artists you work with on the cover of magazines like SPIN all the time. So, it’s not as though this is a big deal to us or anything. At all. But, you guys might be impressed.


Posted by Chris Jacobs